Kanpur Kathgodam Kanpur Garib Rath Express trains

The Garib Rath express train is one of the premier trains introduced by the Indian Railways in 2005 to provide fully air-conditioned travel to those passengers who could not afford the expensive tickets of the fully air-conditioned coaches as in Rajdhani Express and Shatabdi Express.

Therefore, the Garib Rath, whose name means “Poor Man’s Chariot”, was introduced with the facilities of being fully air-conditioned and running faster than most other super-fast express trains running presently.

The maximum speed of Garib Rath trains is 130 km/hr which is the same as Rajdhani’s top speed. However, in Garib Rath trains, passengers are not normally provided with blankets and pillow and they have to pay extra to get those.

They have continuous running electronic display which will show distance remaining, next station name and expected time to reach there. The coaches are also decorated with beautiful paintings of Indian heritage artwork. The emergence of the Garib Rath has led to more connections between commercially important routes, where these trains run faster and make fewer stops.

Kanpur Kathgodam Kanpur Garib Rath Express bearing numbers 12209 and 12210 halts at Lucknow NE, Shahjehanpur, Bareilly, Rampur, Rudrapur, Lalkuan, Haldwani on both sides of its journey.

This train has all compartments comprising of AC 3 Tier Class of Journey. The Comprehensive details such as train name, their numbers, and days of run and other related information are provided underneath in the table.

Kanpur Kathgodam Kanpur Garib Rath Express
Details Kanpur Kathgodam Garib Rath Express Kathgodam Kanpur Garib Rath Express
Train Number 12209 12210
Days of Run Only on Tuesday Only on Monday
Originating station Kanpur Central Kathgodam
Departure Time 0615 Hrs 1830 Hrs
Destination Station Kathgodam Kanpur Central
Arrival time 1505 Hrs 0435 Hrs
Time taken 8 Hrs and 55 Minutes 10 Hrs 5minutes
Distance covered 459 kilometers 459 kilometers
Average Running Speed 51 Kilometers per hour 45.90 Kilometers per hour
Fare AC 3 Tier Rs 450 Rs 450

Kathgodam Railway Station

Station Code KGM

General Enquiry 131

Reservation Enquiry 132

It may please be noted that if you are calling these numbers from outside of Kathgodam then prefix it with the STD Code of Kathgodam which is 05946. For example if you are calling 131 then please dial it as 05946131.

Kathgodam railway station a rail head of the North Eastern Railways. The railway station serves the hill station of Nainital, located at a distance of 35 km. Kathgodam railway station is well connected to Delhi, Howrah, Lucknow and other important places of the country. Uttarakhand Sampark Kranti Express and Delhi Kathgodam Express are two important trains connecting Delhi with Kathgodam.

Kathgodam is a small town in Nainital district of Uttarakhand state. The town comprises of twin township of Kathgodam and Haldwani. Kathgodam is situated north of Haldwani, in the Bhabhar region, the foothills of Kumaon Himalayas. Close to Kathgodam two temples namely Sheetla Devi Temple and Kalichadud Temple are located, which draw large number of devotes from nearby areas during festivals.

A picturesque town Kathgodam serves as a base to visit the famous hill station of Nainital. Perched 1,938 meters above sea level, Nainital is also called the ‘Lake City of India’. Nainital is home to a number of beautiful lakes and flanked by lofty peaks of Kumaon Himalayas. Naini Lake is the main attraction of Nainital, other places of tourist interest are Mall Road, Snow View, Astronomical Observatory, Hanuman Garhi and The Flatts. From Kathgodam buses, cars and taxis are available to reach Nainital.

Amenities at Kathgodam railway station

  • Waiting rooms
  • Retiring rooms
  • Computerized reservation offices
  • Tourist information centers
  • Medical and general shops,
  • Refreshment / snacks room
  • Book stalls and STD /PCO booths.
  • Wheel Chairs and Stretchers.
  • Internet Browsing Hubs.

Distances of major landmarks in & around Kathgodam from Kathgodam railway station

The nearest Airport is at Pantnagar at 70 kilometers, Nainital is 35 kilometers, Ranikhet is 75 kilometers, The Famous Jim Corbett National Park is 80 kilometers, Almora is 88 Kilometers from this railway station.

Kanpur Central Railway Station

Station Code CNB

General Enquiry 131

Reservation Enquiry 132

It may please be noted that if you are calling these numbers from outside of Kanpur then prefix it with the STD Code of Kanpur which is 0512. For example if you are calling 131 then please dial it as 0512131.

Served by the Northern Railways, Kanpur Central Railway Station is on the main Howrah- Delhi route broad gauge in Uttar Pradesh. Some of the main trains that pass through the central station include the Shatabdi Express, Rajdhani Express, Neelanchal Express, Udyan Abha Toofan Express and Gomti Express. The Avadh Express (Gorakhpur-Ahmedabad), Chitrakoot Express (Kanpur-Jabalpur) and Magadh Express (Patna- New Delhi) offer daily services.

Amenities at Kanpur Central Railway station

  • Waiting rooms
  • Retiring rooms
  • Computerized reservation offices
  • Tourist information centers
  • Medical and general shops
  • Restaurants
  • Book stall and STD / PCO booths
  • Internet browsing centers

Places of tourist interest in and around Kanpur Central railway station

Bhitargaon Temple

Bhittargaon temple is an ancient temple built out of large bricks, standing tall at 15.41 meters. This ancient temple is a masterpiece of the Gupta period, set in mud mortar and is an example of skillful craftsmanship of workers who decorated the exteriors of the temple with intricate carvings on the brick and terracotta panels.

Valmiki Ashram

The history of Valmiki Ashram dates back to the period of the Indian epic Ramayana. To unveil the story behind the importance of this Valmiki Ashram, Sita came to this hillock to stay during her exile after being expelled from the kingdom by Lord Rama. It is this ashram where Sita gave birth to her twin sons Luv and Kush. It is from this ashram that Sita disappeared into the lap of Mother Earth when requested by Rama to come back to the kingdom. Since the ashram is on a hillock, it offers a beautiful view of the city and the surroundings. For all nature lovers and those interested in learning new facts about Indian Mythology, the Valmiki Ashram is a place to visit!

Shri Radhakrishna Temple

Built by the J.K. trust, Shri Radhakrishna temple is also locally referred to as the J.K. temple. This Hindu temple has five shrines dedicated each to Lord Radhakrishna, Lord Ardhnareswara, Lord Lakshminarayana, Lord Narmadeshwar and Lord Hanuman. One can experience the unique blend of modern and ancient architecture in the marble construction of this temple. The architecture reflects styles of the northern and southern temples in India. Devotees throng from all over the country to get a feel of the pious and holy atmosphere of the temple. The Shri Radhakrishna temple is the ideal destination for those seeking solace and peace of mind.

Content updated in January 2020